GlossarySee Full Entry

Ventricle: The ventricular system is a set of structures containing cerebrospinal fluid in the brain. It is continuous with the central canal of the spinal cord. The system comprises four ventricles, right and left lateral ventricles (the first and second ventricles), third ventricle and fourth ventricle. The third ventricle is a narrow, vertically oriented cavity in the midplane below the corpus callosum that communicates with each of the lateral ventricles through the interventricular foramen.

Alternate Names
Cerebral ventricle
Lateral ventricle, NOS
Third ventricle, NOS
Primary Site
C715 Ventricle, NOS