GlossarySee Full Entry

Mediastinum: The area between the lungs. The organs in this area include the heart and its large blood vessels, the trachea, the esophagus, the thymus, and lymph nodes but not the lungs.

Primary Site
C381 Anterior mediastinum
C382 Posterior mediastinum
C383 Mediastinum, NOS
Abstractor Notes
Mediastinum is divided into four sections: • Superior mediastinum: Trachea, brachiocephalic veins, thymus, aortic arch, esophagus, thoracic duct • Middle mediastinum: Heart, ascending aorta, pulmonary trunk, pulmonary veins, phrenic nerves • Posterior mediastinum: Esophagus with vagus nerves, descending aorta, thoracic duct, sympathetic trunks • Anterior mediastinum: small vessels, connective and fatty tissue, and thymus in the child