GlossarySee Full Entry

Uterus: The uterus is a hollow, pear-shaped, muscular organ located in the pelvic cavity between the bladder and the rectum. The uterus plays a role in three important functions: menstruation, pregnancy, and parturition. The uterus is composed of two parts, an upper portion called the corpus (body), and a lower, narrow part called the cervix. The fundus is that portion of the corpus which rounds into a bulging prominence at about the level at which the fallopian tubes enter the corpus. The wall of the uterine corpus is composed of the following microscopic layers: 1. Epithelial layer, which contains no blood vessels of lymphatics. 2. Basement layer, which is a sheet of extracellular material that functions as a filtration barrier and boundary which helps to generate and maintain tissue structure. 3. Lamina propria, which is composed of areolar connective tissue, contains blood vessels, nerves, and, in some regions, glands. 4. Myometrium The uterus has thick wallsa nd a small, flat, triangular-shaped cavity. its apex is directed downard and forms the internal os which opens into the cervical canal. Blood supply is received by the uterus from the uterine arteries which are branches of the internal iliac arteries. Lymph nodes of the uterus include: pelvic nodes (paracervical, parametrial, common iliac, internal iliac, external iliac, sacral and aortic. The main lymphatic trunk is the utero-ovarian (infundibulo-pelvic), which drains into the iliac and sacral nodes.

Alternate Names
Primary Site
C54_ Corpus Uteri